Board Structure

TUNA is a Utah-registered non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, governed by an elected Board of Directors. A quorum (over 50%) is required at each meeting to conduct business. The Board is responsible for managing and directing TUNA programs and activities and for the financial health of the organization. Board members are elected at the annual Spring meeting (Salmon Bake). First-term Board members serve for a four-year term.  Subsequent terms run two years and a board member must stand for reelection and be put on the ballot. TUNA Board members are expected to attend monthly Board meetings. The meetings are held at night (7 PM) the first Tuesday of each month, hosted on a rotation by individual Board members. If a Board member fails to attend three consecutive meetings without one-day prior notice, the Board member may be replaced. Board members are also expected to participate on one of the club's sub-committees, help find volunteers for their committees, and produce plans and budgets for their responsible areas. The officers of the club — President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer — are elected by the Board members at the first meeting after the spring election. Three Trustees or Advisers are also invited to all Board meetings, as well as our head coach. The current Board members and Advisors are listed below.

Board Members

Officers:   Email Phone
Tom Bonacci President tuna [at] bonacci [dot] net 801-583-3449
Richard Hodges Vice-President rmhodges [at] rmhodges [dot] com 801-558-5804
Donna Wahoff-Stice Secretary dwstice [at] gmail [dot] com 435-729-0115
Ron Sawdey Treasurer Treasurer [at] UtahNordic [dot] org 801-944-8016
Other Board Members:      
Julie Davenport   Julie [dot] Davenport [at] UtahNordic [dot] org  
Cassie Dippo   ccvolunteer [at] xmission [dot] com 801-277-8631
Don Eggert Website & Online Store Don [dot] Eggert [at] UtahNordic [dot] org 801-382-7292
Derek Hoff Fundraising derekhoff [at] gmail [dot] com 801-903-8977
Chris Magerl Trails & Grooming daymag [at] hotmail [dot] com 801-595-8293
Barry Makarewicz   bmakarewicz [at] comcast [dot] net  
Jen Santoro Editor: Media & News jen [dot] santoro [at] utahnordic [dot] org 433-864-6600
Stephanie Strohl Member Communications c-sstrohl [at] comcast [dot] net 801-860-3136
Eric Swanson Jr. Program Coordinator eric [dot] swanson [at] hsc [dot] utah [dot] edu 801-582-9262
Isaac Wilson   Isaac [dot] Wilson [at] amersports [dot] com 801-624-7571
Dave Hanscom Wasatch Citizens Series hanscom [at] cs [dot] utah [dot] edu 801-550-1777
Tim Metos   vtshopdog [at] me [dot] com 801-533-8671
David Susong   milsong [at] xmission [dot] com 435-615-2726
Peter Swisher Yurt Peter [dot] Swisher [at] UtahNordic [dot] org  

Jr. Program Director:

Steve Cook Head Coach tunacoach [at] utahnordic [dot] com 801-647-0677